Tags

, , , , , , ,

This has been coming up all over the place lately, so I thought I’d take a few minutes to write my thoughts on it.

A week ago, I had no followers and just a couple posts.  Since then, I’ve gained over 200 followers, and I’m closing in on 2000 site views.

A week ago, I didn’t think my work was all that special.  I liked what I did, but I didn’t think anybody else thought much of it, other than the people I took the photos for.  You all have certainly changed that!

Why are we all so hard on ourselves?  How is it that we can take one tiny flaw, and somehow conclude that the whole thing sucks?

I have an engagement session this weekend.  I’m so nervous I’m going to bomb it.  Never mind that I have the time to get great shots, and I haven’t bombed a session (yet?), I still worry.  Why do I do this to myself?

And I know I’m not the only one.  I’ve seen photographers whose work leaves me in awe talk about how nervous they are.  Again, why do we do this to ourselves?

So I spent some time thinking on it, and I think it’s because we care.  We care that our work is good and makes other people happy.  We care that what we offer is quality.  I know I want my clients to love what I give them.  I want it to be something they love so much they will keep it forever.  I care.

This morning I had a few minutes to go outside and get some pictures of the dandelions in my yard.  They are just weeds, but every morning when I get home from work, I think what a pretty picture they would make.  So I slipped on my shoes, made sure the kids were safe, and went out for about 5 minutes.  I was shooting for me.  And they aren’t perfect.  I could have taken the time to adjust my settings a little.  Pay more attention to the light.

I like them.  It’s okay if nobody else does.  Thanks to you all, and your incredible reaction, I’m finding my confidence.

There are so many styles, passions, and types out there.  I don’t have to master them all.